Forum List > Equipment Reviews

W2GD tower service

(1/1)

k4lrx:
As most of you know i am an avid DX chaser and have been for decades. In the past for yagi beam installation and tower work I had to rely upon local talent to do my tower work. Most of the local companies do not want to do ham radio tower work, they do not make enough money on the project. Most are not acquainted with ham radio antennas, rotor alignment, aiming the yagi in the right direction, or in some cases careful with the elements of the antenna.

A few months ago my twenty meter mono bander developed a problem after ice forming on the antenna and then the wind shaking it real badly. I decided then it was time to replace the mono bander with at least a tri band antenna so I could work 15 and ten meters again.

I had contacted one tower service who gave me the run around for weeks, I am on vacation, I am studying the problem, but never seemed to get back to you with a definitive reply as to when he would do your job.

In the course of searching I found W2GD tower service on the E ham site and decided to contact John about installing a new antenna. What I received back was an instant reply, a wealth of information and comparisons of other antennas.

At the time I was set on a Cushcraft antenna namely the Kt 36, well John saved me a lot of problems, this antenna is subject to water getting in the traps and of course a troublesome issue. John suggested a Bencher Skyhawk a tri band beam for 20/15//10 and indeed it does work and work well. No traps.