Author Topic: Worked All States  (Read 3003 times)

k4lrx

• Global Moderator
Worked All States
« on: July 29, 2015, 07:06:54 AM »
For you newcomers to the world of ham radio there are numerous opportunities to earn various achievement awards  to place on the walls of your shack. I for one when I began my venture in ham radio almost 60 years ago as a Novice op I made the attempt to work all states.

This in my early days of radio was the measuring stick for you as an operator, I have many qsl cards with the letters of WAS plus a pair of numbers. The first example was the states actually worked, the second the number of states confirmed.

How does one accomplish this feat and apply for the first award you may want to display in your shack?

As the name Implies it requires a minimum of at least one qso in all 50 states plus confirming those contacts by one of several methods. So how does one set about to work this venture and once done what is process for applying?  The WAS is issued by the ARRL, yes there are other methods in this venture, QRZ.com, EQSL. LOTW. the standard for decades has been the ARRL award. The other two have recently been introduced to ham radio operators and provide other avenues of pursuit.

In order to obtain the WAS award from ARRL some proof of a contact must be submitted, sorry the league does not accept EQSL or QRZ.com, They do accept paper cards and LOTW a service that has emerged for a large number of hams in the last decade.

So how does one set his sights on WAS and what are some suggestions? If you are a casual op you can start out with the lower bands, 160/80/40 due to the propagation of these bands during the evening hours you have the chance to work the states close to your location. The closer states say within a few hundred miles will be more difficult to work on the 20/15/10 band  due to the propagation of these bands.