Author Topic: Tuners needed or not.  (Read 2585 times)

k4lrx

• Global Moderator
Tuners needed or not.
« on: June 11, 2015, 09:30:09 PM »
I have been a ham for almost sixty years and in all that time I have owned two antenna tuners. My first introduction to an antenna tuner was a Heathkit AC-1 a perfect companion for the Heathkit AT-1 transmitter.

In those days power of the transmitter was rated in input power and the transmitter was rated at 30 watts. Not out, but input power. With a class C amplifier since this rig was CW only the efficiency was around 80%. This meant of course that about twenty to twenty five watts reached the antenna. Or did it?  Considering at the time I had only an end fed Zepp and the swr was horrid in comparison to what we have today.

By taking a rather poor antenna and coupling it to the antenna tuner I was satisfied at that time with state side contacts. After all, radio was new to me then and I was a Novice class op thrilled to work any one outside my location. I did not own an SWR meter, or watt meter I was 15 years old and a very limited income.

So, with that tuner and a Heathkit transmitter I wanted to experiment with various and unusual antennas. I recall one day I loaded up a coat hanger, it was supported by two shade tassels and I was on the second floor of my mother and dad’s house. Much to my surprise another Novice returned my call in North Carolina. I have his qsl card to this day. Another day I loaded up some bed springs  just to see if I could get out using such combinations. I did work a few fellows in the Louisville area with 599 reports on 80 meters. My next tuner I owned was a Johnson Matchbox, some of you old timers will recall this product. It  was good for about 300 watts!  At the time I had a much better antenna system then the Zepp. I had my first beam for 15 meters and inserted the tuner in the line.